Dr. Johannes Hohlbein

After obtaining a Ph.D. in Physics (2008, Universität Halle-Wittenberg), I worked as a postdoc in the ‘Gene Machines’ group of Achilles Kapanidis at the University of Oxford. Since 2012 I am working in the Laboratory of Biophysics at Wageningen UR, first as an assistant professor and currently as a tenured associate professor. My lab looks into the amazing world of DNA-protein interactions utilizing methods of single-molecule fluorescence spectroscopy and super-resolution microscopy.

Google Scholar Profile.

Dr. Niels Zijlstra (guest scientist)

Niels joined the lab in October 2020 as a guest scientist from the Cordes lab in Munich to work on combining the miCube microscopy framework and spectrally resolved super-resolution microscopy.

Simon van der Els (research scientist)

Simon joined in October 2020 to work on CRISPR-Cas and anti-CRISPT mechanisms in live cells.

Mattia Fontana (PhD student)

Mattia joined the group in September 2016. In collaboration with the group of Dolf Weijers (Laboratory of Biochemistry) he studies the Auxin Response Factor (ARF), which is an important transcription factor regulating cell growth and differentiation in plants.

Suyeon Yang (PhD student)

Suyeon joined the group in November 2018. In collaboration with John van Duynhoven (Unilever and Laboratory of Biophysics) and as part of the big NWO CHIPP LICENSE consortium, she will study lipid oxidation at oil/water interfaces using super-resolution microscopy.

Abbas Jabermoradi (PhD student)

Abbas joined in April 2019. In collaboration with John van Duynhoven (Unilever and Laboratory of Biophysics) and as part of a NWO TA LOCALBIOFOOD consortium, he will study super-resolution based localisation of biomolecules at food-related interfaces.

Jochem Vink (PhD student)

Jochem is a PhD student working in the group of Dr. Stan Brouns (Link) but likes to visit us to visualise antiviral defence mechanisms in bacteria.

Mariska Brüls (PhD student)

Mariska joined the Voets lab in Eindhoven (Link) in March 2020. As part of the joined NWO TA LOCALBIOFOOD consortium, she will study super-resolution based localisation of biomolecules at food-related interfacesin. Mariska will relocate to our lab in early 2022.

Cleo Bagchus (MSc student)

Cleo joined in September 2020 for her MSc thesis. She will work on CRISPR-Cas in live cells.

Martijn Gobes (MSc student)

Martijn joined in September 2020 for his MSc thesis. Martijn is busy improving the computational workflow for analysing super-resolution data.

Laboratory of Biophysics

We are very grateful for the strong support by the various members of the Laboratory of Biophysics.

Previous group members

Stef van der Krieken (BSc, 2013), Stefan Hutten (BSc, 2013), Jaap Keijsers (MSc, 2014), Alejandro Montón (Erasmus PhD student, 2014), Jochem Vink (MSc, 2014), Koen Tensen (BSc, 2015), Mattia Fontana (MSc, 2015), Cris Verweij (BSc, 2016), Lonneke Zuidgeest (Internship-stagiair, 2016), Rebecca Kaup (BSc , 2016), Gea van de Kerkhof (MSc, 2016), Ebru Acun (Internship-stagiair, 2016), Stan van de Wall (BSc, 2016), Timo Wenzel (Internship, 2016), Shazia Farooq (PhD, 2017), Jan Groen (MSc, 2017), Charlotte Westbroek (MSc, 2017), Sander Baas (MSc, 2017), Andreas Hentrich (Internship, 2018), Hans Dekker (Capita Selecta, 2018), Carel Fijen (PhD, 2018), Meike Kronenberg (BSc, 2018), Sam van Beljouw (MSc, 2018), Ben Tumulero (BSc, 2019), Sven Koens (BSc, 2019), George Vogelaar (MSc, 2019), Vincent Boerkamp (MSc, 2019), Šarūnė Ivanovaitė (Erasmus+ student, 2020), Elmar van der Wijk (MSc, 2020), Ezra Bekkering (BSc, 2020), Dani Kortekaas (BSc, 2020), Koen Martens (PhD, 2020)